Rise Against is an American melodic hardcore band from Chicago, Illinois, formed in 1999. The band's current roster comprises vocalist/rhythm guitarist Tim McIlrath, lead guitarist Zach Blair, bassist Joe Principe and drummer Brandon Barnes. Former members include guitarists Dan Wlekinski, Kevin White, Todd Mohney and Chris Chasse, and drummers Toni Tintari and Dan Lumley. The band spent its first 4 years with the independent record label Fat Wreck Chords, while partnered they released 2 studio albums; The Unraveling (2001) and Revolutions per Minute (2003). Both were met is significant underground success which led to them to be signed with the major label Geffen. The band was later met with mainstream sucess when their major label debut Siren Song of the Counter Culture (2004) was released, the track contained many one hit singles. Their next two albums, The Sufferer & the Witness (2006) and Appeal to Reason (2008), were also successful and peaked at number ten and number three on the Billboard 200 chart, respectively. Appeal to Reason was followed three years later by Endgame (2011).[2] All four albums released via Geffen were certified platinum in Canada, while three of these albums were certified gold in the United States. The band also is known for its advocacy of progressivism, supporting organisations such as Amnesty International and the It Gets Better Project. The band actively promotes animal rights and most of the members are straight edge (excluding Barnes), PETA supporters and vegetarians.